Officials to Celebrate Groundbreaking of Haslet Parkway April 29


Roadway represents key east-west logistics artery, improved mobility

   Brian Wilson

Arlington, Texas – Transportation leaders from across Tarrant County will assemble April 29 to celebrate the groundbreaking of Haslet Parkway, a four-lane east-west thoroughfare that will enhance the distribution of goods while providing better mobility to residents of the fast-growing area.

Planned as a gateway to facilitate effective freight movement and better quality of life for residents, Haslet Parkway is a prime example of what can be accomplished through regional cooperation. Officials will discuss the project, including the funding partnership helping make it a reality, during the in-person celebration at 120 Intermodal Parkway.

The roadway is part of the $64.4 million AllianceTexas/Haslet Accessibility Project, which received a $20 million Better Utilizing Investments to Leverage Development (BUILD) grant from the federal government in 2018. Construction of the roadway, which has been underway since fall 2020 is scheduled for completion in 2023.

"Haslet Parkway is a prime example of what can be accomplished through regional cooperation. This was truly a team effort, beginning with the tireless work of the City of Haslet and Tarrant County, who have been terrific partners since the beginning," said Michael Morris, P.E., director of transportation, North Central Texas Council of Governments. “The North Central Texas Council of Governments and Regional Transportation Council were pleased to play a part in the funding of this important project, along with our valued local, state and federal partners. This new parkway will help tie the community together and ensure residents have access to jobs, whether they work in the city or across the region.”


Who: Tarrant County Judge Glen Whitley, Tarrant County Commissioner Gary Fickes, Haslet Mayor Bob Golden and NCTCOG Director of Transportation Michael Morris, P.E., will discuss how the project was conceived and how it will impact mobility and reliability for Haslet and the region.

What: Groundbreaking ceremony for construction of Haslet Parkway.

When: 9:30 a.m. Thursday, April 29

Where: 120 Intermodal Parkway              
              Haslet, TX 76052

(Across the street from the Volkswagen facility. Follow signage to site.)

Project funding: Project is about $64.4 million (includes engineering, right-of-way, utilities and construction) and includes:
  • $23.1 million in Regional Transportation Council funds
  • $20 million BUILD Grant
  • $20.2 million of local funds (including matches) from City of Haslet, Tarrant County and private sector sources
  • $1.1 million from the Texas Department of Transportation
Note: COVID-19 safety and health precautions will be in place for this in-person event. Face coverings are encouraged.

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.
NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including
16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit
About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at