North Texans Encouraged to Comment Online About Regional Transportation Initiatives

Innovative technologies being considered that could link region to other parts of Texas

   Brian Wilson

Arlington, Texas — The North Central Texas Council of Governments welcomes public input on transportation planning initiatives, during an online input opportunity beginning Feb. 8. Comments can be made by visiting

NCTCOG staff will provide information regarding the DFW High-Speed Transportation Connections Study, including a project description, results of corridor analyses, public involvement opportunities and next steps.

NCTCOG conducted virtual public meetings in January to discuss the study, which is examining the potential addition of high-speed technology to both complement the region’s existing transportation system and contribute to a future high-speed network. The resulting technology would connect passengers to the high-speed rail line planned to link Dallas and Houston, as well as Fort Worth and South Texas in the future.

Additionally, modifications to the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) for Fiscal Years 2020 and 2021 will be posted for review and comment. The UPWP provides a summary of transportation and related air quality planning tasks to be conducted by NCTCOG.

Administrative revisions to the current Metropolitan Transportation Plan, Mobility 2045, information on the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program (RSVP) and vehicle incentive opportunities will also be highlighted.

To request printed copies of the information, call 817-608-2365 or email

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:

NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered in the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit  

About the Regional Transportation Council:

The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties.

The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at

# # #