NCTCOG to Present Pedestrian Safety Overview at Public Meeting

/New Disadvantaged Business Enterprise goals to also be discussed June 10
Brian Wilson

(Arlington, Texas) — The North Central Texas Council of Governments will host a public meeting in June to provide an overview of the North Texas Pedestrian Safety Action Plan. The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) goals for fiscal years 2020 through 2022 will also be presented.

The meeting will take place at 6 p.m. Monday, June 10 at NCTCOG’s Arlington offices, 616 Six Flags Drive. 

The pedestrian safety plan encompasses goals and action items items to address the high number of pedestrian crashes and fatalities across the region. With the guidance of a diverse stakeholder committee, the plan will include analysis of reported crash data, a public opinion survey, goals and strategies to improve pedestrian safety, and prioritized areas of the region.

Additionally, NCTCOG staff is required to establish and periodically update DBE participation goals to encourage contracting opportunities for minority and historically underutilized businesses. The draft update of these goals for fiscal years 2020 through 2022 will be presented for review and comment.

Finally, projects with committed funds from federal, State and local sources are included in the Transportation Improvement Program. To maintain an accurate project listing, this document is updated on a regular basis and will be available online at for review and comment.

Information on the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program and funding provided through the Volkswagen settlement to replace or repower old diesel buses with cleaner-burning technology will also be highlighted.
To watch the meeting online, click the “live” tab at A recording of the presentations will also be posted at
Public Meeting Details
Monday, June 10, 2019, 6 p.m.
North Central Texas Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive
Arlington, TX 76011

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development.
NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions. NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 229 member governments including 16 counties, 167 cities, 19 school districts and 27 special districts. For more information on the Transportation Department, visit

About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at
# # #