NCTCOG Requests Input on Changes to Transportation Improvement Program

Comments accepted online through Feb. 9

   Brian Wilson

Arlington, Texas —  The North Central Texas Council of Governments is conducting an online input opportunity beginning Jan. 11 to give residents the chance to comment on changes to the Transportation Improvement Program and Statewide Transportation Improvement Program.

Staff will provide the public with changes made to the 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program and the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program.

The TIP is a staged, multiyear list of projects in the Dallas-Fort Worth area approved for funding by federal, state, and local sources.

The changes were requested by the Texas Department of Transportation in order to remain within Statewide financial constraints prior to the submission of the 2021-2024 TIP/STIP to the Federal Highway Administration. Requested changes not requiring RTC approval are also included for informational purposes.

Details on the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program and vehicle incentive opportunities will also be highlighted during the public input opportunity.

North Texans are encouraged to provide their input at through Feb. 9. To request printed copies of the information, call 817-608-2365 or email
About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered in the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit

About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at
# # #