NCTCOG to Highlight Transportation Initiatives in its First In-Person Meeting of the Year

Metropolitan Transportation Plan, other regional efforts will be highlighted Oct. 11
Press Release
Brian Wilson

Arlington, Texas — The North Central Texas Council of Governments will host a public meeting in October to provide an overview of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan, Mobility 2045, and present details on this year’s freight safety campaign, local government energy reporting requirements and other transportation issues.

The meeting will take place at NCTCOG’s Arlington offices, 616 Six Flags Drive, at noon on Monday, October 11. This marks NCTCOG’s first in-person meeting since March 2020, when the COVID-19 pandemic began. Residents may attend the meeting or watch it online. Those attending in person are encouraged to wear masks and maintain six feet from one another.

One of the primary responsibilities of a Metropolitan Planning Organization is the development and maintenance of a Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP). The MTP identifies transportation needs, investments and priorities for the regional transportation system including highways, bridges, public transit, freight, and bicycle and pedestrian facilities. NCTCOG staff is developing an update to the current MTP, Mobility 2045, and will provide an overview and timeline for the plan.

Additionally, staff will provide details on this year’s freight safety campaign, which is educating heavy-duty vehicle operators about following regional truck lane restrictions and informing the public about safe driving practices near large commercial vehicles and the importance of reducing freight-related accidents.

Staff will also present an overview of the local government energy reporting requirements, NCTCOG resources and training, and important reminders regarding the upcoming 2021 Local Government Energy Reports. Political subdivisions in ozone nonattainment or “affected” counties in Texas are required to reduce their electric consumption by 5% each year and report their annual electricity consumption to the State Energy Conservation Office.

The department’s interactive map tool, Map Your Experience, the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program (RSVP), vehicle incentive opportunities and administrative revisions for Mobility 2045 will also be highlighted.

To watch the meeting online, click the “live” tab at A recording of the presentations will also be posted at, where residents can comment through Nov. 9.

For special accommodations due to a disability, language translation needs, or to request printed copies of information discussed, contact Carli Baylor at 817-608-2365 or at least 72 hours prior to the meeting. A free roundtrip ride between NCTCOG and the Trinity Railway Express CentrePort/DFW Airport Station can also be arranged with 72 hours’ notice.

Public Meeting Details
Monday, Oct 11, 2021, Noon
North Central Texas Council of Governments
616 Six Flags Drive
Arlington, TX 76011

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development.

NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions. NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 229 member governments including 16 counties, 167 cities, 19 school districts and 27 special districts. For more information on the Transportation Department, visit
About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at
# # #