Mayors to be Recognized for Collaboration on Regional Trail

53-mile continuous trail to link downtown Fort Worth to downtown Dallas  
Brian Wilson

April 10, 2019 (Arlington, Texas)
– The mayors of five area cities will be recognized by the Regional Transportation Council on April 11 for their successful efforts to collaborate and secure funding for the Fort Worth to Dallas Regional Veloweb Trail last year.

The RTC has been partnering with the cities of Fort Worth, Arlington, Grand Prairie, Irving and Dallas to develop a continuous regional trail through the five cities. Once complete, the regional trail will extend 53 miles from downtown Fort Worth to downtown Dallas and connect with an extensive network of trails in each city.

In October 2018 the RTC approved $9.08 million in federal funding for construction of the final link of the Fort Worth-to-Dallas Regional Veloweb Trail from the Trinity Railway Express CentrePort/DFW Airport Station in Fort Worth eastward to the Mike Lewis Trail in Grand Prairie.

All sections of the regional trail are anticipated to be complete by 2023, with each of the cities and NCTCOG continuing to collaborate on potential trail enhancements, marketing, economic development and tourism opportunities associated with the trail.  A map and more information about the Fort Worth-to-Dallas Regional Veloweb Trail is provided at
Event Details
 Date:     Thursday, April 11
 Time:    1 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Place:   North Central Texas Council of Governments
              616 Six Flags Drive
              Arlington, TX 76011
Details: Mayors Betsy Price (Fort Worth), Jeff Williams (Arlington), Ron Jensen    (Grand Prairie), Rick Stopfer (Irving) and Mike Rawlings (Dallas) will gather in
celebration of the funding of the final section of the southern alignment of this
trail corridor. The mayors will be recognized during the regularly scheduled
Regional Transportation Council meeting.

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions. NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered on the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the Transportation Department, visit

About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at
# # #