Dallas-Fort Worth Bicycle-Pedestrian Projects Awarded $23.5 million


Projects will improve safety and access to schools and major employment centers

Brian Wilson
Kevin Kokes

Arlington, Texas –  The Regional Transportation Council recently approved $23.5 million in federal funding for construction of 12 active transportation projects in Collin, Dallas and Tarrant counties. The entities awarded funding will contribute $3.5 million in local match, bringing the total investment in the region’s bicycle and pedestrian facilities to $27 million as part of the Transportation Alternatives Call for Projects.

The projects will provide connections to schools and major hubs of employment in the Dallas-Fort Worth area for residents bicycling and walking, while increasing safety. Data shows that during the coronavirus pandemic, as people have shifted from the office to working from home, trails across the Dallas-Fort Worth area have seen a significant increase in usage. With school underway across the region and in-person instruction an option many families have chosen, the increased emphasis on bicycling and walking could also extend to students.

The RTC awarded approximately $7 million in federal Transportation Alternatives Program funding to six Safe Routes to School projects in September that will improve the safety of children walking and bicycling to and from school.
In Dallas, three Safe Routes to School projects will improve access to the following schools:
  • Burleson Elementary School and Comstock Middle School
  • Rosemont Primary School and Rosemont Elementary School
  • Zaragoza Elementary School

Projects near the following Arlington schools were also awarded funding:
  • Crow Leadership Academy
  • Thornton Elementary School
  • Webb Elementary School
The Safe Routes to School projects could lead to the reduction of local traffic congestion and improved air quality by reducing the number of vehicle trips necessary to transport children to and from school.

An additional $16.5 million in federal funding was awarded for the construction of other regionally significant projects consisting of trails and separated on-street bikeways in Dallas, Fort Worth, Garland, Plano and Richardson. The projects will implement significant sections of the Regional Veloweb network, providing commuting access to transit and major destinations, and improving safety and comfort for people making bicycle trips.

Among the six active transportation projects is a $6 million ($4.2 million in federal funds) initiative to provide bicycle and pedestrian improvements along Rowlett Road/Duck Creek Drive in Garland.

A $2.3 million project in Fort Worth would involve construction of separated bike lanes and the addition of bicycle traffic signals and bike-pedestrian counters along East Fourth Street/East First Street.

Funding Details

List of Projects
Map of Projects

About the North Central Texas Council of Governments:
NCTCOG is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit and coordinating for sound regional development. NCTCOG's purpose is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of local governments and to help them recognize regional opportunities, eliminate unnecessary duplication, and make joint decisions.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered in the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 238 member governments including 16 counties, 169 cities, 22 school districts and 31 special districts. For more information on the NCTCOG Transportation Department, visit www.nctcog.org/trans.

About the Regional Transportation Council:
The Regional Transportation Council (RTC) of the North Central Texas Council of Governments has served as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for regional transportation planning in the Dallas-Fort Worth area since 1974. The MPO works in cooperation with the region’s transportation providers to address the complex transportation needs of the rapidly growing metropolitan area. The Dallas-Fort Worth metropolitan area includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant and Wise counties. The RTC’s 44 members include local elected or appointed officials from the metropolitan area and representatives from each of the area’s transportation providers. More information can be found at www.nctcog.org.
# # #