Radio Communications (Interop)

Primary Responsibility Of Committee

The Regional Public Safety Communications Governance Committee is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of NCTCOG's Executive Board. The Committee assists the Board in planning for and implementing an effective public safety agency to agency radio communications system throughout the 16-county region. The Committee monitors the program's progress as well as the recommendations of consultants working towards implementation. The Committee is divided into two sub-committees; Operations, and Technical. The Operations Sub-committee facilitates the development of operational procedures, while the Technical Sub-committee reviews equipment and software requirements for an effective radio communications system. 

The Committee acts as the Interoperable Communications Governance Committee for the Metropolitan Urban Area Initiative (MUASI), which includes the cities of Dallas , Fort Worth , and Arlington , and their respective cities and counties. The MUASI determines funding priorities for local governments within their assigned cities and counties. 

Number Of Committee Members

Forty-five voting members may serve, however it must be representative of the NCTCOG region. 

Terms Of Membership

Terms of membership are staggered at 1, 2, and 3 years, with reappointment options. The nature of the program encourages continuity and inclusiveness of public safety, elected, and related officials (police, fire and emergency medical services) who can look to interoperability needs and solutions in a regional context beyond their own jurisdictions. 

Standard Meeting Date 

 The Committee meets as needed. 

Special Requirements 

Committee members should have an interest in public safety radio communications and some fundamental knowledge of how public safety agencies operate. They must have sufficient time to attend and contribute to the meetings that are convened. In most instances, at least one month's advanced notice of the meetings will be given to encourage attendance. 

For more information contact
Amanda Everly

Next Meeting

September 21, 2022 - 1:00 PM

Meeting Information



September 21, 2022